Webb Simpson wins Players

 Webb Simpson held his nerve to win the Players Championship by four shots at TPC Sawgrass in Florida.

Simpson, seven clear overnight, shot a one-over 73 to triumph on 18 under and claim a first win since 2013.

Woods (69) birdied the 12th to close within four, but double bogeyed the par-three 17th to end on 11 under.

Charl Schwartzel, Jimmy Walker and Xander Schauffele all carded 67 to finish tied for second on 14 under.

Dustin Johnson's run of 64 weeks as world number one comes to an end after he could only manage a level-par 72 to finish tied for 17th.

Fellow American Justin Thomas takes over after his six-under-par closing round moved him into a tie for 11th with the likes of Woods, Ian Poulter (69) and Brooks Koepka, who had an albatross two in a course record-equalling 63.

Posted on 14th May 2018